Strawberry Rhubarb Turnovers

It’s beginning to look a lot like SUMMER! In Colorado it certainly is warming up and I am loving it. This weather is perfect for blossoming gardens, sun tea, white wine, and a million other wonderful summer things. One of the best parts is all the delicious produce growing right in the backyard or in this case, my Mom’s backyard – her wild and scrumptious RHUBARB!! That plant grows like crazy.

Lately I have been on a pie kick that probably won’t end anytime soon. To mix things up, I decided to make turnovers with my pie crust instead of a traditional pie. I used a favorite recipe from my Williams-Sonoma Baking Book and added some fresh grated ginger to give the filling some flair. The filling was delicious and some of the turnovers turned out beautiful. Unfortunately, the success rate wasn’t as high as I had hoped but I have some Lessons Learned for you all!

Strawberry Rhubarb Turnovers

Strawberry Rhubarb Turnovers

Makes 14 turnovers

Ingredients:

  • 2 Awesome Pie Crust dough rounds – found here
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 Tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 lb fresh strawberries, chopped
  • 6-8 stalks fresh rhubarb (about 3-4 cups), chopped into ½ inch bites
  • 2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
  • Milk and granulated sugar for sprinkling on top (maybe ¼ cup each)

Once the two pie crust dough rounds are thoroughly chilled, roll one out at a time. If it is as hot in your kitchen as it was in mine, move quickly. The key to delicious pie crust is cold fat (those chunks of butter and shortening are good!).  Roll out the dough and cut out circles, the size of your choice. I used the rim of a small bowl and made a total of fourteen 7-inch dough rounds. I lined a few baking sheets with parchment paper and placed two dough rounds per sheet. Then I used plastic wrap to layer the rounds so the circles stacked up 3-4 high. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until the dough is cold and firm, about 30-45 minutes.

While the dough circles are chilling, combine the dry ingredients – sugar, cornstarch, tapioca, and salt. In a separate bowl, combine the strawberries, rhubarb, and ginger.

Dry ingredients!

Fruit Mixture

When you are ready to start making the turnovers, combine the dry ingredients with the fruit. Looking back, I would have split the ingredients in half before mixing and waited to mix the second batch until I ran out of the first fruit mixture. After a while, the fruit gets soggy and juice forms at the bottom. You want the fruit to be as firm as possible when making the turnovers.

To maximize the cold dough, keep the baking sheets with the dough rounds in the refrigerator and remove one circle at a time. I used roughly 1/3 cup filling per round, scooping the filling to one side of the circle. Use a pastry brush to brush the edges lightly with ice water before folding the circle in half. It helps with the seal but if it becomes too wet, use flour to dry it up. Avoid making it too wet whenever possible.

The start of the turnover

By the end, I figured my personal technique was holding the turnover while making the initial sealing of the dough. Then I put the turnover down and crimped the edges. I had to move fast though because the heat from my hands did effect the dough. As this was my first time trying turnovers, it worked for me but I bet there are better, faster methods!

Sealing the turnover

Crimped

Place the turnovers on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Using a sharp knife, make a few slits on the top to allow steam to escape. Once the baking sheet is full, lightly brush the turnovers with milk and sprinkle with sugar. Place in the freezer for 15 minutes or until firm.

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Once the dough is chilled, immediately put into the oven and bake for 22-28 minutes. Let cool on a rack. EAT!

Strawberry Rhubarb Turnover

Lessons Learned:

  • The fruit got too soggy by the end. Either move quickly or combine the dry and fruit ingredients twice like I mention in the recipe.
  • Only remove the dough from the refrigerator when necessary. It is crucial to keep the dough as cold and firm as possible so the turnover is easy to shape.
  • The pie recipe I converted called for a few small cold chunks of butter on top of the filling. I forgot this and am wondering how it would have affected the result…

I’m still experimenting this whole ‘pie thing’ 😉 mainly the part about making them look attractive… But it certainly is a fun thing to play with in the kitchen! Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. N
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 01:49:00

    Awesome and delicious looking. To make it pretty I would suggest a couple things. Cut decorative slits in the top side before baking to allow proper steam ventilation. This should keep it from tearing holes in itself. As for putting a nice sheen on it you could brush it with clarified butter, egg wash, or my personal favorite clarified butter then a suger/eggwash mixture.

    Reply

  2. Susan Judy
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 12:52:41

    This is wonderful, El!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

